Song(s) of the Day – 8/18/10

  

I missed last weeks Song of the Day and thenn promised 2 Songs on Friday and failed again to get that out. So I’m going to be posting 3 Songs today. To cut down on the size of this post I’m only posting the chorus to each song and two links to the bands.

The Black Keys – Too Afraid to Love You

Just recently got into The Black Keys and they’ve been blowing me away. There is just something timeless about their sound. Bluesy, Rocky, Soulful! I like so many of their songs, but because of lack of a good video on the one I wanted to pick (10 Cent Pistol) I decided to pick Too Afraid to Love You. Still a great song!

There really isn’t a “chorus” on this one so here’s a snippet of the lyrics:

I’m just one wishing
That I was a pair
With someone
Oh somewhere

The Black Keys Links:
Official Website
Last.fm

 Mumford & Sons – Awake My Soul

Mumford & Sons is another relatively new band that has found it’s way into my rotation. Talk about some great folky, bluegrassy music with a nice kick of rock! The way they pull off the slower songs and really rock out on some really reminds me of my friends from Ha Ha Tonka. One thing that is so cool about these guys is the fact that they have no drummer. The lead singer has a kick drum for his right foot and a tamborine mounted to a pedal for his left foot. Plus, their banjo player has to have one of the coolest banjos I’ve ever seen. I didn’t know they even made them in anything other than the basic round ones.  Anyway enough talking.

Chorus:

In these bodies we will live
In these bodies we will die
Where you invest your love
You invest your life

Also, I couldn’t not post this video too. It’s Awake My Soul again, but it’s been chopped down some and set to some clips to one of my favorite movies. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.

Mumford & Sons Links:
Official Website
Last.fm

Broken Bells – The Ghost Inside

Apparently this is the update that includes bands I’m just now starting to fully appreciate. Broken Bells is another one of them. This time I randomly came across them while browsing SXSW videos. They are a bit more experimental, using strange sounds in some of their songs. Almost techno type sounds, but they are much more melodic than your average techno song with one line being repeated over and over. While looking them up on Google I found out that the band consists of Brian Burton, of Danger Mouse, and James Mercer, the lead singer of The Shins. If you know the shins you know Mercer has quite the distinct voice, very pleasant to the ears! Burton has also produced for Beck, the Gorillaz, and The Black Keys (Coineciendence they happen to be featured in this post…yes, ironic..yes) so you know the quality of their sound is top notch. Here is a strange video to one of my favorite songs off their debut album.

Chorus:

Feel like a daughter
She’s like a star tonight
Without warning
She gave up
The ghost inside

Broken Bells Links:
Official Website
Last.fm

Leave a Reply

