Song of the Day 8/04/10 – The Future Freaks Me Out by Motion City Soundtrack

 

It’s here it’s here! Humpday Humming…ok this isn’t much of a song to hum to, but I felt like busting a move instead! I can’t believe it’s been a week since my last post. Whoops sorry. My last post was last weeks song of the day. Anyway, upward and onward!

Love me some Motion City Soundtrack! I’ve been picking a lot of slower acousticy type stuff that is probably boring you to sleep at your office computer! So here’s a little pick me up for your Wednesday…let’s get you over that hump and ready for the weekend! This band is a much more energetic band than the last few I’ve posted and if you are familiar with more popular music you’ve probably heard of them. If you haven’t then I’m ashamded to be your friend…JOKES! All is well though, cause now you are going to get a chance to check them out.

Also from now on when I post my song of the day I’ll be posting the current position that band is in on my Top Artist on Last.fm as well as the number of plays by that band. Stats will look like this.

#37 Motion City Soundtrack – 130 plays

Enough chit chat! Here’s a video to their song The Future Freaks Me Out by Motion City Soundtrack

Lyrics:

I’m on fire and now I think I’m ready to bust a move
Check it out I’m rocking steady
Go!

Betty won’t stop listening to modern rock
How she hates to be alone
I try to compensate her lack of love with coffee cake
Ice cream and a bottle of ten dollar wine she says hey
I rock the Haro sport
I rock the cow girl blues
I rock too fast for love I’m footloose in my Velcro shoes
What’s up with Will and Grace?
I don’t get drum and bass
The future freaks me out

I’m on fire and now I think I’m ready to bust a move
Check it out I’m rocking steady
To the beat in my head
It goes oh, oh-oh-oh
I know that she’s the only one
I’d rather waste our time together
Yeah, ‘cause we can get down

Betty can’t quit carving question marks in my wrist
How come we’re so alone
We waste away the days with nicotine and television samples
From an era we hate to admit we embrace
We fail to represent
We fail to be content
We fail at everything we ever even try to attempt
And so the story goes
As only Betty knows
It’s time to take control
(Get Down)

I’m on fire and now I think I’m ready to bust a move
Check it out I’m rocking steady
To the beat in my head
It goes oh, oh-oh-oh
I know that she’s the only one
I’d rather waste my time with her

Betty, I need you
I miss you
I’m so alone without you
To call up on the weekends with my cellular phone

Betty it’s so hard to relate
To the whole human race
I don’t know where to begin
I don’t know where to begin
If we can both find a way
To do the things that we say
We might not sit in our rooms
And drink our daydreams away
Betty, I’m a dreamer
I’m not a vicious schemer
Oh Betty won’t you.. ah fuck it

I’m on fire and now I think I’m ready to bust a move
Check it out I’m rocking steady
To the beat in my head
It goes oh, oh-oh-oh
I know that she’s the only one
I’d rather waste our time together
Yeah, ‘cause we can get down.

Links:
Motion City Soundtrack Webpage
YouTube
Myspace
Facebook
Last.fm
Twitter
Wiki

Leave a Reply

