Sunken Still

I was hoping to have this poem I’ve been working on done by now, but I’m still not finished…so here’s an older one I’ll post up in the mean time. Week #3 Photos will be posted later too!

Sunken still this night drags on.
Just like the last it’s come and gone.
Leaving me.
Deceiving me.
I sleep, but get no rest.
Under covers I try my best.

Put to bed my restless eyes.
Behind these lids they’re in disguise.
Wound tight; these ropes don’t hold.
My mind sets sail as my thoughts unfold.

Sunken still this life drags on.
Just like the rest I feel I’m a pawn.
I wish I knew more.
Wish I could do more.
I’m alive, but I’m a mess.
Afraid to dream I guess.

So I’ll let loose my fears.
It will bring me to tears
But it’s time I cried myself to sleep.
God knows I tire of counting sheep.

4 responses to “Sunken Still

  1. Found the way you discussed the insomnia to be very effective…thanks for sharing the poem.

    • Thanks for reading, slpmartin! I wrote this over the period of like a week. I seemed to only be able to write late at night when I couldn’t sleep.

  2. I like it. My favorite,
    ‘Put to bed my restless eyes.
    Behind these lids they’re in disguise..’

    • Thanks, Aimee! I called this one Progress of a Poem on Facebook like over a year ago and wrote it over the course of a few days. I think I got some help with that line, it turned out great though.

Leave a Reply

