Song of the Day 7/07/2010

It’s that time of the week again. Good ol’ hump day. Which means time for the song of the day.

This weeks song of the day is Some Constellation by Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin (Often shortened to SSLYBY). My freshman year at Drury I attended a random party in a small on-campus apartment and this goofy dude was playing the keyboard and mixing songs so everyone would dance. It was a great time considering the lack of space and the lack of actually knowing very many people there, but I ended up finding out that Philip, the guy playing keys, played for a band called Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin.

Me and the roommate would frequent local shows and finally got a chance to see them live a year or so later and it was great. They have two lead singers that switch off from song to song and they tend to switch instruments from time to time. Guitarist switches to drums, bassist switches to guitar, and drummer switches to bass. Made their live show interesting.

With a kind of indie pop sound it’s really hard not to enjoy the tunes these guys produce. I don’t think they’ve made a song I haven’t loved. Off their most recent album, Pershing, I couldn’t stop going back to Some Constellation for another listen. It’s a bit more laid back then the rest of the album, but that tends to be the songs I like most. Hope you enjoy.

Birds on the pillow
And paper lanterns hangin’ from the ceiling
Sticky stars aglow
Mappin’ out some constellation
I’m tired of standing in the light outside her window
For her I would row to the ends of my imagination

Pleasure to behold
A silhouette so real yet oh so static
Measured and controlled
Lets down her hair, takes off her army jacket
I’m trying to figure out what’s right – do I stay or go?
For all she doesn’t know, oh, cause she wishes that she still had it

Birds on the pillow
And paper lanterns hangin’ from the ceiling
Sticky stars aglow
Mappin’ out some constellation
I’m tired of standing in the light outside of her window
For her I would row to the ends of my imagination

Undiscernible lyrics fade way…(Something about “the middle of the night”)

Band Links:
Myspace

Facebook
YouTube
Last.fm
Bandcamp
Twitter
Wiki

3 responses to “Song of the Day 7/07/2010

  1. Rafe!

  2. Hi : )

    I just started a WordPress. It’s really confusing. Or maybe I’m in need of sleep. Might go try that. Talk to you soon!

  3. Love this.

Leave a Reply

